An interesting post about the realities of many recipients of government assistance from a blogger who works with the poor and the homeless on a daily basis.

guidolicktenstein

Recently I read a blog entry by a brainy friend that left me thinking, “Really?”  The article was on the Kansas Lottery and showed how many Kansans believe that (from the beginning) the lottery revenue was promised to go to education.  In actuality…it never was.  Huh?  How can I think something for so many years and it be inaccurate?

Which leads me to the topic of today’s post…Welfare.  I have folks comment on a regular basis about the number of people on Welfare.  Their perspective is that there are a lot of lazy freeloaders on Welfare that are living high-on-the-hog on the government’s dime.

My response is: Huh?  You see I work with poor folks on a daily basis.  I daily work with the very system that would provide said “welfare”.  In my experience, “welfare” is not at all like most folks think!

The first thing I usually ask is: “To what are you referring…

View original post 455 more words

